Jr. Blues Announce Preseason Games


SPRINGFIELD, IL – The Springfield Jr. Blues will play four preseason games to prepare the team for the start of the 2012 campaign that starts with the NAHL Showcase in Blaine, Minnesota September 12-15th.

The Jr. Blues will kick-off the preseason against the Peoria Mustangs, Saturday September 1st at 6:00pm and Sunday September 2nd at 3:00pm.  The Peoria Mustangs are a member of the NA3HL and compete in the Central Division.  Current Jr. Blues Parker Johnson and Nate Chasteen are Mustangs’ Alumni.

The team will finish the preseason against the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana Friday September 7th and Saturday September 8th. Both games will start at 7:00pm. U of I is an ACHA Division I hockey team and a member of the Central State Collegiate Hockey League.  The Illini won the ACHA National Championship in 2005 and 2008 along with appearing in 14 of the last 15 ACHA National Tournaments. 

Entrances to the games are free.  Fans wishing to attend can pick up tickets at the Jr. Blues booth at the Illinois State Fair, Jr. Blues office and at our current sponsors prior to game night.  To find out the sponsor locations, be sure to go to our twitter and facebook pages as they will be announced after the Fair.  The Jr. Blues will be printing more tickets than the Nelson Center holds.  The first 2,000 people for each game will be allowed to enter.  Be sure to come early and support your Jr. Blues.


About the Jr. Blues

The Springfield Jr. Blues are the NAHL’s longest running active team, having joined the NAHL back during the 1993-94 season.  The Jr. Blues are just one of seven NAHL teams to have won multiple Robertson Cup Championships (1996, 1997).  Over 160 alumni have gone on to NCAA Division I and III hockey.


About the NAHL

The NAHL, the only USA Hockey-sanctioned Tier II Junior league boasting 28 teams from across North America, prides itself on the social maturity and skill development of student-athletes ages 16-20 with aspirations of advancing to collegiate and/or professional hockey.  To date in 2011-12, over 110 NAHL players have committed to NCAA schools.  Famous alumni of the NAHL include:  Stanley Cup Champion and Conn Smythe/Vezina Trophy winner Tim Thomas, Buffalo Sabres goaltender Ryan Miller and Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane.  For more information, visit www.nahl.com.