2016-17 Year End Awards Banquet

Apr 11, 2017

Saturday night after the Springfield Jr. Blues concluded their season on the ice with a 4-3 victory over the Coulee Region Chill, players and their families went up to the Franklin Room inside The Nelson Center for the annual end of the year banquet.

Springfield Head Coach Tony Zasowski spoke on the highlights of the 2016-17 season. He spoke about the 7 game win streak, including a 4 game sweep while in Alaska and the collection of talent the team possessed. He also touted the success of getting Springfield players to the next level, mentioning the  10 NCAA commitments to play in Springfield this year. as well as 2 USHL promotions (Goaltender Evan Fear & Defenseman Jack Summers).

He wrapped up the ceremony by announcing the recipients of the 5 annual year-end awards. The recipients of each award were:

Jordan Muzzillo – Defensive Player of the Year

Matt Cassidy – Rookie of the Year

Brandon Puricelli – Most Improved Player

Ryan Leibold – Springfield Jr. Blues ‘Standard of Excellence’

Matt Long – Team Most Valuable Player

[foogallery id=”1281″]