The Robertson Cup & Springfield

The Springfield Jr. Blues have made it to the North American Hockey League (NAHL) playoffs. The National Championship will be played in Blaine, Minnesota, at the Fogerty Arena from May 10-13th, 2018. NAHL President and Commissioner Mark Frankenfeld “We have received very positive feedback from NHL and NCAA scouts in regards to hosting the event in Minnesota the last two seasons, so we felt a priority and need to continue that momentum. It also underlines our most important mission, which is to highlight and showcase the players at a critical time of year in the hockey calendar.”

The oldest junior hockey trophy in the United States, the Robertson Cup is named for Chuck Robertson, a pioneer in the early years of junior hockey and the NAHL. Robertson also was the owner of the Paddock Pool Saints during the time they won seven straight championships (1976-1983).

The Fogerty Arena opened in 1982 and has a main arena seating capacity of 1,800. The arena has hosted thousands of hockey events to include State Championships. There are two full-size hockey rinks, a curling rink, and their Sticks & Stones Restaurant. The facility became the first to have a year-round curling facility in North America.

The NAHL is divided into four divisions, with Springfield being in the Midwest Division. The first 4 teams in each division will play, with seeds 1 and 4 playing each other and seeds 2 and 3 playing each other. The winner is determined in a best of five series.

The two series winners will move to another best of five division finals. The winner of each division will go on to the final four, to eliminate two teams. The final two teams will play in a one-game championship to determine the Robertson Cup winner.

The 2018 NAHL Future Prospects Combine is also working with teams at the event, accepting applications from all players born between 2002-2005. Players will also have exposure to junior, college, and professional scouts in attendance.

Past Robertson Cup Recipients Include:

2017 Lone Star Brahmas
2016 Fairbanks Ice Dogs
2015 Minnesota Wilderness
2014 Fairbanks Ice Dogs
2013 Amarillo Bulls
2012 Texas Tornado
2011 Fairbanks Ice Dogs
2010 Bismarck Bobcats
2009 St. Louis Bandits
2008 St. Louis Bandits
2007 St. Louis Bandits
2006 Texas Tornado
2005 Texas Tornado
2004 Texas Tornado
2003 Pittsburgh Forge
2002 Compuware Ambassadors
2001 Texas Tornado
2000 Danville Wings
1999 Compuware Ambassadors
1998 Compuware Ambassadors
1997 Springfield Jr. Blues
1996 Springfield Jr. Blues
1995 Compuware Ambassadors
1994 Compuware Ambassadors
1993 Kalamazoo Jr. K Wings
1992 Compuware Ambassadors
1991 Kalamazoo Jr. K Wings
1990 Compuware Ambassadors
1989 Compuware Ambassadors
1988 Compuware Ambassadors
1987 Compuware Ambassadors
1986 Compuware Ambassadors
1985 St. Clair Falcons
1984 St. Clair Falcons
1983 Paddock Pools
1982 Paddock Pools
1981 Paddock Pools
1980 Paddock Pools
1979 Paddock Pools
1978 Paddock Pools
1977 Paddock Pools
1976 Little Caesars